Academy of Achievement Logo
Achiever Gallery
Keys to Success
Podcast Center
About the Academy
 Academy Overview
 The Summit
 Audio Recordings
+ [ Golden Plate Award ]
 Student Letters
 Academy Patrons
For Teachers

Search the site

Academy Careers


Academy of Achievement: Golden Plate Recipients
View Summit Highlights:

The Golden Plate Award has been presented since 1961 by the Academy of Achievement to approximately twenty-five guests of honor at the International Achievement Summit.

Chosen by the Academy's Awards Council and other distinguished authorities, these men and women of exceptional accomplishment in the sciences, professions, business, industry, arts, literature, sports, entertainment, and public service are acclaimed ... not as winners, but as "representatives of the many who excel."

This page presents a complete list of honorees from the years 2009 through 2014. Selected lists of Honorees from other years can be found at the links below, along with a Summary of Golden Plate Recipients grouped by decade and field of endeavor.

Selected Honorees: 1961 - 1976
Selected Honorees: 1977 - 1992
Selected Honorees: 1993 - 2008
Summary of Golden Plate Recipients


Frances H. Arnold, Ph.D.
Inventors Hall of Fame

Wolf Blitzer
CNN's Pioneering News Anchor

David Boies
Counselor and Advocate

General Philip M. Breedlove, USAF
Supreme Allied Commander Europe

James W. Breyer
Silicon Valley Investor

Hon. Edmund G. Brown, Jr.
Governor of California

Carol Burnett
Television Hall of Fame

Ann Colgin and Joe Wender
Vintners and Philanthropists

Tony Fadell
iPod Mastermind & Founder of Nest

Athol Fugard
Playwright, Actor and Director

Lukasz (Dr. Luke) Gottwald
Record Producer of the Year

Alan H. Guth, Ph.D.
The Inflationary Universe

Reid Hoffman
Co-Founder and Chairman, LinkedIn

Elizabeth Holmes
Health Technology Revolution

Louis J. Ignarro, Ph.D.
Nobel Prize in Medicine

Joi Ito
Director, MIT Media Lab

Thomas Keller
Culinary Impresario

Carole King
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Jeff Koons
Contemporary Art Phenomenon

Robert J. Lefkowitz, M.D.
Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Admiral William H. McRaven, USN (Ret.)
Commander, U.S. Special Operations Command

Theodore B. Olson
Constitutional Advocate

Saul Perlmutter, Ph.D.
Nobel Prize in Physics

Sidney Poitier
Legend of American Cinema

Diana Ross
Grammy Award for Lifetime Achievement

Thomas Südhof, M.D.
2013 Nobel Prize in Medicine

Wayne Shorter
Master Jazz Saxophonist and Composer

Chris Wallace
Broadcast Journalist

Arieh Warshel, Ph.D.
2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

David J. Wineland, Ph.D.
Nobel Prize in Physics


Lee R. Berger, Ph.D.
The Origins of Humanity

David Brooks
Columnist & Cultural Commentator

Ray Dalio
Hedge Fund Master

Louise Glück
Former U.S. Poet Laureate

Hon. Eric H. Holder, Jr.
U.S. Attorney General

Salman Khan
Pioneer of Online Education

Hon. Edward J. Markey
U.S. House of Representatives

Audra McDonald
Five Tony Awards

Hon. Leon Panetta
U.S. Secretary of Defense

General David H. Petraeus
Director, Central Intelligence Agency

Kevin A. Plank
Pioneer of High-Tech Sportswear

Adam G. Riess, Ph.D.
Nobel Prize in Physics

James B. Rogers, Jr.
International Investor & Author

Nouriel Roubini, Ph.D.
Economic Oracle

Joel Sartore
Portraits of Natural Wonder

Hon. Sonia Sotomayor
Supreme Court of the United States

Natasha Trethewey
Poet Laureate of the United States

Roger Y. Tsien, Ph.D.
Nobel Prize in Chemistry


Tony Bennett
Legendary Singer

Jackson Browne
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Hal David
Songwriters Hall of Fame

Paul Farmer, M.D., Ph.D.
Founder, Partners in Health

Nadine Gordimer
Nobel Prize for Literature

Hon. Barbara Hogan
Champion of Justice and Public Health

Beverly and Dereck Joubert
Award-winning Documentary Filmmakers

Sol Kerzner
Chairman and CEO
Kerzner International Holdings Limited

Johnny Mathis
Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award

Chris Matthews
Host, MSNBC's "Hardball"

Alexander McCall Smith
Best-selling Author

Hon. Navanethem Pillay
United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights

Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa
Legend of the Liberation Struggle

Anthony D. Romero
Guardian of Civil Liberties

Hon. Albie Sachs
Constitutional Court of South Africa

Wole Soyinka
Nobel Prize for Literature

Joseph E. Stiglitz, Ph.D.
Nobel Prize in Economics